Advanced Search

Free CR-740 - Alaska



Download Download File ( 16.9 kB)
Excerpt: DRIVER LICENSE REINSTATEMENTS You must pay a reinstatement fee and show proof of financial responsibility for the future before you will be eligible for a new driver's license. Proof of future financial responsibility may be in the form of a Certificate of Insurance (SR-22), obtained from your insurance company or agent. An SR-22 certificate of insuranc
DRIVER LICENSE REINSTATEMENTS
You must pay a reinstatement fee and show proof of financial responsibility for the future before you will be eligible for a new driver's license. Proof of future financial responsibility may be in the form of a Certificate of Insurance (SR-22), obtained from your insurance company or agent. An SR-22 certificate of insurance differs from an ordinary insurance policy and may take several weeks to obtain. However, a binder from your insurance agent will satisfy the requirement until the actual SR-22 is received from the insurance company. If you prefer not to purchase the SR-22 insurance, you may file a $125,000 surety bond as an alternate method of showing proof of future financial responsibility. Proof of financial responsibility for the future must be maintained for a period of three years following the date an administrative license action is over. Proof of financial responsibility for the future for court ordered revocations must be maintained following the revocation period for the period of time specified by statute for the particular offense. For example, for offenses other than DUI/Refusal, the SR-22 period is 3 years. For DUI/Refusal offenses the length of time depends on how many prior convictions you have, such as five, 10, 20 years, or as long as you are licensed. Any revocation or suspension imposed will continue beyond the period specified by the court or the Division of Motor Vehicles until proof of future financial responsibility is provided. A period of limitation will terminate on the last day of the specified period of limitation and a revocation will commence until future proof is provided. To legally drive following an action taken against your driving privileges, you must apply for and be issued a new driver's license by meeting the following requirements: (1) (2) If your driving privileges were canceled, you must correct the cause for the cancellation. You must show proof of financial responsibility for the future. It must be maintained for a period of time specified by Alaska statutes. You may show proof by: (a) Filing a Certification of Insurance (SR-22) from your insurance company, or (b) Filing a $125,000 surety bond. You must pay a reinstatement fee if your driving privileges were revoked, suspended, or limited. The fee is determined by when your license action occurred, and how many and what kind of license actions you have. The reinstatement fee is $100, $200, $250, or $500. You must pass any required test, i.e., written, vision and road. The test you will be required to take will be determined by the length and type of action. Road test fee is $15 or $25. You must pay a license issuance fee of $20 or $15 or $100. This fee will be determined by the length and type of action, and the class license to be issued. You must meet any other requirements of the Division of Motor Vehicles (for example: clearance letters from other states, statement from doctor, etc.).

(3)

(4) (5) (6)

No surrendered license will be returned to you.

If you have any questions regarding your license status, contact: Division of Motor Vehicles, P. O. Box 110221, Juneau, AK 99811-0221. Phone number: 907-465-4361.
WARNING: If you are convicted of driving while your license is suspended or revoked, or driving in violation of a limitation imposed on your driving privilege, you will be subject to a mandatory jail sentence. The minimum sentences are: If your license was revoked by the court for first offense DUI or refusal to take the breath test: 20 days with 10 days suspended on condition that you complete 80 hours of community work service and a $500 fine. If your license was revoked for second or subsequent DUI offense or refusal to take the breath test: 30 days and a $1000 fine. In all other cases: For first offense, 10 days with 10 days suspended on condition that you complete 80 hours of community work service. For second or subsequent offense: 10 days.

In addition, Alaska law requires that your driver's license be revoked for an additional period of 90 days (added to any prior revocations). No limited license may be issued during that period.

CR-740 (2/06)(cs)(no hole punch) DRIVER LICENSE REINSTATEMENTS

AS 28.15.211 AS 28.15.271

AS 28.15.291 AS 28.20.230

AS 28.20.240 AS 28.20.540

File Size: 16.9 kB
Pages: 1
File Format: PDF
State: Alaska
Category: Court Forms - State
Author: jlee
Word Count: 730 Words, 4,300 Characters
Page Size: Letter (8 1/2" x 11")
Embed
URL

http://www.state.ak.us/courts/forms/cr-740.pdf